Lucky Stars Trilogy

Twinkle Twinkle Lucky

Lucky Stars Trilogy

I figured I would show some love in this post to one of my favorite martial arts, comedy films the Lucky Stars Trilogy.

I’m not going to give a summary of this series not really out of spite, but for the fact that I’ve only seen maybe two of these in their original language to understand the actual continuity of the story throughout the trilogy. Has that really stopped me from enjoying each of these movies, far from it. I love all three, but would love to see the one that is only available in English in it’s original language so I can understand the story a little better.

Movie wise all three are awesome! Action packed, hilarity from stop to finish, with some painfully, cringe inducing stunts. The first two films have the death defying stunts that Jackie Chan is famous for, but the stunts that Sammo Hung performs for his respective character can be cringe inducing because how he falls through windows, takes a hit, and crashing through various other things.

There is also a lot of references to the classic comedy of old. For instance one scene has a complete, sped up, homage to The Three Stooges, there are Buster Keaton references, and many more that make you really have to pay attention to see it.

If you don’t have these three classics you need them. I haven’t seen the movies outside of this trilogy, not because I don’t want to, but because of their current availability. Trust me, there are countless Sammo Hung and Jackie Chan movies that haven’t seen a re-release in a long time, but that list would be too long for me to type out. You can find them on Wikipedia.

 

 

About The Heretic

I am rather eccentric.
This entry was posted in Heretic Enjoys The Cinema and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

