Hogfather

THOGFATHER

Hogfather

Hogfather is another British tv movie based on the Terry Pratchett novel of the same name. The story is that someone has kidnapped the Hogfather (Discworld’s Santa Clause or Father Christmas), and Death has decided to help by taking on the Hogfather’s role until he found. It is up to Death’s granddaughter, Susan Sto Helit, to find out what happened to the Hogfather and bring him back.

Although I loved The Color of Magic, Hogfather has to be my favorite of the two made for tv versions of the respective Discworld novels. Especially since Susan Sto Helit (played by Michelle Dockery) is my favorite character of Discworld. Another cool thing was seeing the inclusion, even though it was rather short, of the Death of Rats, the Grim Squeaker.

Another thing I love is seeing Death trying to fill the role of the Hogfather, trying be and act jolly, while shouting “Ho! Ho! Ho!” with that emotionless skull of his. Just seeing everyone’s reaction to him while he basically playing Santa Clause. Hogfather may have came out way after Nightmare Before Christmas, but the novel this tv movie is made from came way before Tim Burton’s film.

As I’ve said before, this is definitely my favorite Discworld tv movie. I cannot get enough of it, and try to watch it as much as I possibly can.

See this! See this! See this!

About The Heretic

I am rather eccentric.
This entry was posted in Heretic Enjoys The Tube and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hogfather

  1. “Look at the scary skeleton!”

    “He’s eating a biscuit”

    I absolutely adore this film, and I love how Sir PTerry has a cameo in each film (Toymaker in this case).

    I’m going to the Discworld Convention in August, and shall be certain to take many pictures for you :)

    • The Heretic says:

      All three live action Discworlds were awesome!

      I loved the scene where Death goes to the department store. That one ruled!

      I didn’t even know they had a convention for Discworld. I would definitely go.

      I cannot wait to see the pics when you get them. :)

  2. Eric says:

    “The Hogfather” was written in 1996, and the “Nightmare Before Christmas” was done in 1993.

Leave a Reply

